Skip to main content

Amatis Trio

Founded in Amsterdam in 2014 and now based in Salzburg, the Amatis Trio appears in major concert halls worldwide, and is considered one of the leading piano trios of its generation. German violinist Lea Hausmann, British cellist Samuel Shepherd and Dutch pianist Mengjie Han form an electric fusion of energy and are praised by the international press for their insight, creativity and unique communication on stage.
Approaching its 10th stage anniversary, the 2023-24 season features extensive tours across Europe and beyond, with highlights including concerts at the Elbphilharmonie Hamburg, Concertgebouw Amsterdam and Konzerthaus Vienna. Additionally, the trio is presenting its thought-provoking »Humanity in War« program, a collaboration with the esteemed Thomas Quasthoff.

Recognized early on as »BBC New Generation Artist« and »ECHO Rising Star«, the trio quickly emerged as one of the top chamber music ensembles of its kind, receiving some of the world’s most prestigious music prizes such as »Kersjesprijs» (Netherlands) and the »Borletti-Buitoni Trust Award and Fellowship«.
Alongside appearances at the BBC Proms, Verbier Festival and Edinburgh International Festival, the Amatis Trio has performed in over forty countries across five continents, continuously bridging the gap between chamber music and other artistic forms to attract new audiences.

The musician’s first CD release on CAvi Records (2018), features compositions by Britten, Enescu and Ravel. Their second album, a rendition of Messiaen’s »Quatuor pour la fin du temps« with clarinetist Ib Hausmann, earned them a 2023 »OPUS Klassik« nomination and was hailed by critics as »one of the most important chamber music recordings of recent times.«
The three musicians continue to commission and premiere contemporary pieces, with fifteen pieces to date, including the evocative work »Moorlands« by Swedish composer Andrea Tarrodi.
Lea Hausmann plays on a Jean-Baptiste Vuillaume instrument, loaned by generous patrons through the Beare’s International Violin Society.